ESPN Wisconsin

Wisconsin vs Minnesota

Wrong version or no version of Flash detected

Depth chart is out, with a few interesting twists

Aug 04, 2012 -- 12:41pm
Photo/Associated Press via

GREEN BAY – At the very top of the page, written in italics so you don’t miss it, is one word.


Nonetheless, the Green Bay Packers released their first depth chart of training camp Saturday, in advance of Thursday’s preseason opener at San Diego, and there are a few noteworthy changes.

For starters, Charles Woodson is listed as the starting strong safety after spending his entire career at cornerback on the Oakland Raiders’ and Packers’ depth charts. M.D. Jennings is listed as the No. 2 strong safety, as he’s the guy who comes in when Woodson shifts to the slot corner spot in nickel and dime defenses.

It is interesting to note that Jarrett Bush is listed as the starting right cornerback opposite Tramon Williams. Sam Shields and Davon House are listed behind Williams, while rookie Casey Hayward is listed as the top backup behind Bush.

At wide receiver, after being listed behind Donald Driver all of last season, Jordy Nelson – the team’s leading receiver last season in receptions, yardage and touchdowns – is now listed as a starting receiver opposite Greg Jennings. Driver is listed behind Nelson, while James Jones and Randall Cobb are listed behind Jennings.

At running back, James Starks is in the No. 1 position but the second in line is Brandon Saine, ahead of Alex Green. At tight end, Tom Crabtree is the No. 2 behind Jermichael Finley and ahead of D.J. Williams and Ryan Taylor.

That, and other quirks in the depth chart, would indicate that seniority gets priority, because there are a few listings that don’t jibe with what’s gone on at Ray Nitschke Field at practice.

For instance, behind Clay Matthews at right outside linebacker, the team lists Vic So’oto and Jamari Lattimore, while rookie sensation Dezman Moses is No. 4. At practice, Moses has been running with the No. 2 defense behind Matthews, and in Friday night’s scrimmage, Moses got snaps with the No. 1 defense in Matthews’ place.

Also, at left tackle, where starter Marshall Newhouse departed the scrimmage with an undisclosed injury, rookie seventh-round pick Andrew Datko is third on the depth chart behind Newhouse and injured Derek Sherrod. In reality, the coaches have put Herb Taylor at left tackle while Datko has worked lately on the right side. Taylor is listed as the No. 2 right tackle.

WR:      85 Greg Jennings
            89 James Jones
            18 Randall Cobb
            19 Diondre Borel
            11 Jarrett Boykin
            7 Curenski Gilleylen
LT:       74 Marshall Newhouse
            78 Derek Sherrod
            77 Andrew Datko
            69 Shea Allard
LG:       70 T.J. Lang
            62 Evan Dietrich-Smith
            67 Don Barclay
            54 Greg Van Roten
C:         63 Jeff Saturday
            65 Sampson Genus
            60 Tommie Draheim
RG:      71 Josh Sitton
            73 Ray Dominguez
            68 Jaymes Brooks
RT:       75 Bryan Bulaga
            72 Herb Taylor
            64 Mike McCabe
TE:       88 Jermichael Finley
            83 Tom Crabtree
            84 D.J. Williams
            82 Ryan Taylor
            81 Andrew Quarless
            45 Eric Lair
            48 Brandon Bostick
            46 DeMarco Cosby
WR:      87 Jordy Nelson
            80 Donald Driver
            86 Tori Gurley
            16 Shaky Smithson
            13 Dale Moss
QB:      12 Aaron Rodgers
            6 Graham Harrell
            9 B.J. Coleman
RB:       44 James Starks
            33 Brandon Saine
            20 Alex Green
            26 Marc Tyler
            23 Du’ane Bennett
FB:       30 John Kuhn
            35 Jon Hoese
            40 Nic Cooper
LDE:     79 Ryan Pickett
            69 Phillip Merling
            76 Mike Daniels
            91 Lawrence Guy
            67 Johnny Jones
NT:       90 B.J. Raji
            77 Daniel Muir
            95 Anthony Hargrove
RDE:    98 C.J. Wilson
            99 Jerel Worthy
            94 Jarius Wynn
            96 Mike Neal
LOLB: 53 Nick Perry
            93 Erik Walden
            59 Brad Jones
            58 Frank Zombo
BLB:     50 A.J. Hawk
            49 Robert Francois
            56 Terrell Manning
MLB:    55 Desmond Bishop
            51 D.J. Smith
            57 Jamari Lattimore
            59 Brad Jones
ROLB: 52 Clay Matthews
            97 Vic So’oto
            57 Jamari Lattimore
            54 Dezman Moses
LCB:     38 Tramon Williams
            37 Sam Shields
            31 Davon House
            41 Dion Turner
RCB:    24 Jarrett Bush
            29 Casey Hayward
            39 Brandian Ross
            47 Otis Merrill
SS:       21 Charles Woodson
            43 M.D. Jennings
            28 Sean Richardson
            32 Micah Pellerin
FS:       42 Morgan Burnett
            22 Jerron McMillian
            34 Anthony Levine
K:         2 Mason Crosby
            8 Tim Masthay
P:         8 Tim Masthay
            2 Mason Crosby
H:         8 Tim Masthay
            18 Randall Cobb
PR:       18 Randall Cobb
            38 Tramon Williams
            87 Jordy Nelson
            19 Diondre Borel
            16 Shaky Smithson
KR:       18 Randall Cobb
            37 Sam Shields
            87 Jordy Nelson
            19 Diondre Borel
            16 Shaky Smithson
LS:       61 Brett Goode
            62 Evan Dietrich-Smith

Return to: Jason Wilde Blog