ESPN Wisconsin

Packers' Murphy added to competition committee

Feb 14, 2012 -- 4:39pm
Photo/Associated Press

GREEN BAY – Green Bay Packers president/CEO Mark Murphy was one of three men named to the NFL’s Competition Committee Tuesday by NFL commissioner Roger Goodell.

Murphy, new St. Louis Rams coach Jeff Fisher and Arizona Cardinals coach Ken Whisenhunt were all added to the committee, NFL spokesman Greg Aiello announced via his Twitter account

In a statement released by the Packers, Murphy said: “I was excited and honored to learn that I’ve been selected to the Competition Committee. It will be a new experience for me, and I am looking forward to representing the Packers in this capacity on a league level.”

Murphy played eight seasons as a defensive back with the Washington Redskins from 1977 through 1984, including two Super Bowl appearances and a selection to the Pro Bowl following the 1983 season. Murphy has also served as a member of the NFL’s Management Council executive committee since replacing retired president/CEO Bob Harlan in 2008.

Murphy becomes the first Packers representative on the Competition Committee since former head coach Mike Holmgren served on the committee from 1995 through 1999.

Already on the committee were chairman Rich McKay of the Atlanta Falcons, Cincinnati coach Marvin Lewis of the Cincinnati Bengals, New York Giants owner John Mara of the New York Giants, Baltimore Ravens general manager  Ozzie Newsome, Houston Texans GM Rick Smith and Stephen Jones, son of Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

Murphy replaces former Indianapolis Colts president Bill Polian on the committee.

Murphy is also serving on the subcommittee on college relations.

Return to: Jason Wilde Blog